Meditação (Meditation)


Meditação (Meditation) (m. Antônio Carlos Jobim, w. Newton Mendonça) published and first recorded in 1959; English lyrics (c. 1963) by Norman Gimbel


João Gilberto — first track on side B of his 1960 album O Amor, o Sorriso e a Flor


Oscar Castro-Neves — track two of the 1960 compilation LP Bossa Nova Mesmo


Antônio Carlos Jobim with Claus Ogerman and his Orchestra — recorded NYC, May 9 & 10, 1963 — Jimmy Cleveland (tb) Leo Wright (as, fl) Antônio Carlos Jobim (p, g) George Duvivier (b) Edson Machado (d) Claus Ogerman (arr, cond) unidentified strings, and others — released on the debut studio album of Jobim, The Composer of Desafinado, Plays

In a review of the recording by Judith Schlesinger published at, she notes:

[Meditation] long ago moved out of the novelty bossa nova category into designation as a jazz standard. In fact, of the dozen songs on this album, probably ten have achieved that status, forming the core group of Jobim classics. The instrumentation here, especially Jimmy Cleveland’s trombone, is particularly expressive.


Laurindo Almeida & the Bossa Nova Allstars — from Ole! Bossa Nova, 1963


Frank Sinatra & Antônio Carlos Jobim — recorded on 31 January 1967 at Western Recorders, Hollywood; released on Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim, March 1967

Frank Sinatra (ldr), Claus Ogerman (con), Sonny Burke, Ray Gilbert (pdr), Dom Um Romão (d), Frank Sinatra (v), Antônio Carlos Jobim (bkv)


Astrud Gilberto

In a Jazzwax article dated 25 March 2013 (link defunct, Sep 2019), Marc Myers said:

In the summer of ’65, Astrud Gilberto made a fast trip to the Netherlands to appear on Dutch TV. The show—See Jazz—was produced by pianist and host Pim Jacobs. Flush off the release of Getz/Gilberto and the success of her single of The Girl From Ipanema, Gilberto sang a long list of songs with a bossa nova beat backed by Pim Jacobs (piano), Wim Overgaauw (guitar), Ruud Jacobs (bass), Ruud Brink (tenor saxophone) and Dom Um Romão (drums). According to the July 15, 1965 issue of Billboard, she returned to the U.S. a day after taping.

Following an introduction by Pim Jacobs, the exquisite live performance begins at 2:45 with “Meditation,” followed by “It Might as Well Be Spring,” “The Telephone Song,” “Only Trust Your Heart,” “Corcovado,” and “Garota de Ipanema” / “The Girl from Ipanema.”

Astrud Gilberto: vocal
Pim Jacobs: piano, host
Wim Overgaauw: guitar
Ruud Jacobs: bass
Ruud Brink: tenor saxophone
Dom Um Romão: drums

live, 1967


Claudine Longet — from her A&M debut album Claudine (1967)


Andy Williams – live on The Andy Williams Show, 1970


Nara Leão — from her 1971 album Dez Anos Depois, consisting primarily of songs with music by Antonio Carlos Jobim (19 of 24 tracks)



Baden Powell de Aquino — recorded in early December 1972 at Studio Fremontel, Paris, and released on the LP Le Genie de Baden Powell (Disques Festival, Volume 3), 1973

musicians (for the sessions):

Baden Powell (git, vcl)
Guy Pedersen (b)
Joaquim Paes Henriques (dr)
Luis Agudo (perc)
Janine de Waleyne (vcl)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Why do my tag searches fail?

%d bloggers like this: